Monday, May 14, 2018 – Team BC’s male team has won the 2018 National Aboriginal Hockey Championships (NAHC), held May 6th-12th in Membertou, Nova Scotia. Team BC defeated Team Saskatchewan 6-5 in a thrilling overtime championship game held Saturday evening. This marks the third time that Team BC has won the national title in the event’s 17 year history.

Former NHL goaltender Dwayne Roloson served as Head Coach for the male program and stated, “After a pool play loss to Saskatchewan earlier in the week, we went into the final game with a renewed focus and each period saw our boys more determined to not give up.  These young players were full of heart, hard work and talent and I feel proud to have been a part of this program.”

Team BC advanced from the preliminary round ranked second in their pool and faced last year’s champions Manitoba in the semi-finals.  BC beat the defending champions 4-3 to qualify for the gold medal game against Team Saskatchewan.  Team BC was down 0-3 after the first period, but made an incredible comeback in the third period as Dylan Devers scored with .1 seconds left in regulation time to tie the game at 5-5.  Within the first two minutes of overtime, BC’s Devers once again scored to solidify the gold-medal win.  The game was highlighted later in the evening during the national broadcast of Coach’s Corner on CBC’s Hockey Night in Canada.

Team BC – NAHC is a program of the Indigenous Sport, Physical Activity & Recreation Council (I·SPARC) and sanctioned by BC Hockey.  The program provides an opportunity for the province’s top midget age male and female Indigenous hockey players to compete at the National Championships, which celebrates sport excellence as well as cultural unity and pride.

“I am very proud of Team BC’s accomplishments both on and off the ice.  This program is about more than elite hockey as we see these young athletes grow as emerging leaders while forming friendships that will last a lifetime and I expect great things in the future for them,” noted Assistant Coach Shane Gottfriedson. “The youth get to experience their passion and their culture through sport.  They are proof of the important role sport plays in positively influencing the health and wellness of our communities.”

Other notable Team BC highlights from the 2018 NAHC included the female team’s fourth place finish. In the bronze medal game, they lost by a score of 2-1 in overtime against Manitoba. BC’s female captain, Maryna Macdonald was awarded the tournament’s most valuable defensive player award.  BC’s male forward Haydn Delorme was awarded player of the game for the gold medal game; forward Jalen Price was named most valuable forward for the tournament.  BC’s Dylan Devers was awarded most sportsmanlike player.

I·SPARC and its Provincial Hockey Committee would like to acknowledge the Membertou First Nation and its volunteers for hosting the event and to also thank all of Team BC’s fans and supporters.  Congratulations to Team BC for their outstanding performance at 2018 National Aboriginal Hockey Championships.

National Aboriginal Hockey Championships (NAHC)

The NAHC provides a forum for elite Midget age Aboriginal hockey players from across Canada. The event aids in fostering cultural unity and pride and celebrates the athletic abilities of Aboriginal hockey players from across the country. Team BC is represented by two teams, one male and one female, which are both composed of the top players from across the Province.

Indigenous Sport, Recreation & Physical Activity Partners Council (I·SPARC)

I·SPARC is a consortium of the First Nations Health Authority, BC Association of Aboriginal Friendship Centres, and Métis Nation BC. The overarching mission of I·SPARC is to improve the health outcomes of Indigenous people throughout British Columbia by supporting and encouraging physically active communities and by expanding access to sports and recreation opportunities. I·SPARC works with First Nations, Metis Charter Communities, Aboriginal Friendship Centres, and other sport and physical activity stakeholders to design and deliver community-based programs that promote active lifestyles and support the desire for transformative change in the health and well-being of Indigenous communities, families and individuals across BC.

For more information about Team BC – 2016 NAHC, and I·SPARC, visit,, or, or contact:

Lara Mussell Savage, Director of Sport
Alissa Assu, Team BC Coordinator
Phone: 250.388.5522

(Scroll down for Team Photos) 

Team BC (Male) NAHC Roster 2018

Head Coach – Dwayne Roloson, Victoria, BC
Asst. Coach – Shane Gottfriedson, Kamloops, BC
Asst. Coach – Robert Vermette, Abbotsford, BC
Manager – Tana Mussell, Chilliwack, BC
Trainer – Ben Guidolin, Kelowna, BC

# Last Name First Name YOB Hometown Nation/Community
15 Beckett Hunter 2001 Ashcroft Cook’s Ferry First Nation
12 Brant Ty 2001 Victoria Mohawks of the Bay of Quinte
13 Cameron Colton 2002 Surrey Métis
7 Cunningham Corey 2001 Prince George Métis
17 Delorme Haydn 2000 Port Moody Ahtakakoop
10 Devers Dylan 2000 Chilliwack Boston Bar First Nation
23 Erichuk Breckin 2000 Kamloops Métis
6 Erichuk Alek 2001 Knutsford Métis
11 Joe Ethan 2000 Vernon Splatsin First Nation
19 Lepine Rhys 2000 Barriere Métis
5 Livingston Hunter 2001 Ladysmith North Island Métis
14 McLellan Carter 2002 Kamloops Métis
20 Mucha Brendan 2000 Kamloops Métis
9 Porter David 2002 Port Alberni Alberni Clayoquot Métis
21 Price Jalen 2001 Campbell River Weiwaikum First Nation
18 Savey Cody 2001 Gold River Mowachaht/Muchalaht First Nation
4 Schweizer Jayce 2000 Prince George Nak’azdli First Nation
2 Vetterl Hayden 2000 Mission Heiltsuk First Nation
30 Vinnie Ashton 2001 Lillooet Ts’kw’aylaxw/St’at’imx/Secwepmec
1 Virgo Kaleb 2000 Kamloops Tk’emlups te Secwepemc


Team BC (Female) NAHC Roster 2018

Head Coach – Justin Fillion, Prince George, BC
Asst. Coach – Dayle Poulin, Prince George, BC
Asst. Coach – Jennifer Gilligan, Maple Ridge, BC
Manager – Jocelyn Marren, Prince George, BC
Trainer – Michelle Béland, Lillooet, BC

# Last Name First Name YOB Hometown Nation/Community
5 Basil-Pelly Carter 2002 Creston Lower Kootenay First Nation
9 Bosher Huntyr 2000 Sooke Skatin First Nation
19 Creyke Wynona 2000 Smithers Iskut First Nation – Tahltan
10 Grooms Kamryn 2003 Ladysmith Mid-Island Métis Association
3 Livingston Jada 2002 Ladysmith North Island Métis Association
20 Macdonald Maryna 2000 Port Alberni Ditidaht First Nation
21 McDonnell Azaria (Missy) 2003 Merritt Kinistin Saulteaux Nation
16 McLean Stephanie 2000 Fraser Lake Metlakatla First Nation
15 McLellan Georgia 2000 Kamloops Métis
14 McMillan Jordan 2000 Prince George Liard River First Nation
12 Moore Nancy 2004 Prince George Old Masset Village Council
7 Myers Faith 2000 Williams Lake Yunesit’in First Nation
17 Rice Wasyn 2000 Invermere Métis
4 Ridgewell Jade 2002 Delta Coast Salish
22 Scully Camryn 2001 Prince George Métis Nation BC
11 Stanwood Charlotte 2001 West Vancouver Métis
1 Storey Kaiya 2001 Prince Rupert Skidegate First Nation
30 Sturgeon Tessa 2003 Prince George North Central Metis
6 Teschuk Tashyla 2003 Prince George Takla First Nation
13 Walkus Tianna 2001 Port Hardy Kwakiutl First Nation