2018 Provincial Recipients

I·SPARC Honours Provincial Recipients of the Premier’s Awards for Indigenous Youth Excellence in Sport

12 Outstanding Athletes Receive Prestigious Award at Gathering Our Voices Opening Ceremony

The Premier’s Awards for Indigenous Youth Excellence in Sport were presented last night to twelve outstanding Indigenous youth athletes from across British Columbia. The Awards were presented by the Honourable Scott Fraser, Minister of Indigenous Relations and Reconciliation during a formal celebration held during the opening ceremony of the Gathering Our Voices Indigenous Youth Leadership Training at the Alberni Athletic Hall in Port Alberni, BC

I·SPARC, in collaboration with the Province of British Columbia, created these awards to highlight the incredible achievements of Indigenous youth athletes in the province and honour their excellence in performance sport, leadership qualities, commitment to their education and role in their communities both on and off the field.

From the 47 regional recipients selected in 2018, a total of 12 recipients (six male and six female) have been selected to receive the provincial award, representing I·SPARC’s six regions – Northeast, Northwest, Interior, Fraser, Vancouver Coastal, and Vancouver Island.

The 2018 Premier’s Awards for Indigenous Youth Excellence in Sport – Provincial Recipients

  • Kaia Haintz, age 14, Track & Field, Cross Country, Hwlitsum First Nation
  • Hayden Guilderson, age 21, Hockey, Tzeachten First Nation
  • Rain Thomas, age 14, Basketball, Soccer, Track & Field, Tseshaht First Nation
  • Nicholas Krawczyk, age 14, Lacrosse, Duncan’s First Nation
  • Pasha Ormerod, age 18, Volleyball, Métis Nation SK
  • Samson Whitebear-George, age 17, Football, Rugby, Squamish & Tsleil-Waututh Nations
  • Sierra Murphy, age 17, Volleyball, Métis Nation BC
  • Jadyn Johnston, age 14, Swimming, Tsilhoqot’in & Carrier
  • Renay Willier, age 15, Fastpitch, Baseball, Sucker Creek Band
  • Garnet Currie, age 18, Swimming, Métis Nation BC
  • Callison Foreman, age 16, Field Lacrosse, Box Lacrosse, Rugby, Tahltan Nation
  • Holden Jones, age 17, Cross Country Olympic Mountain Biking, Haisla Nation

“These twelve extraordinary young people contribute so much to their communities and our province is a better place because of their commitment and leadership,” said Premier John Horgan. “Their dedication to active living and personal growth are an inspiration to all British Columbians, including the next generation of Indigenous athletes.”

“Congratulations to each of the young athletes nominated today,” said Lisa Beare, Minister of Tourism, Arts and Culture. “Your nomination is a testament not only to your amazing achievements in sport and academics, but also showcases your exceptional leadership skills and strength of character.”

“Through the Premier’s Awards we are able to honour the achievements of twelve extraordinary Indigenous youth athletes” said Rick Brant, I·SPARC’s Executive Director. “These awards are so unique because they provide us with the opportunity to celebrate their athletic performances and share the stories of how these young role models have given back to their communities, their commitment to academics, and demonstrated leadership. They are an inspiration to us all.”

Kaia Haintz

Hayden Guilderson

Rain Thomas

Nicholas Krawczyk

Pasha Ormerod

Samson Whitebear-George

Sierra Murphy

Jadyn Johnston

Renay Willier

Garnet Currie

Callison Foreman

Holden Jones